You are here

Recent News

2023 CUWiP Poster
August 26, 2022
The UW Physics Department will be hosting a Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics, Jan 20-22, 2023. Learn how you can apply, volunteer to help, or donate at the event website.
H9 T cell infected by HIV
July 25, 2022
UW News has just posted a story about new research on HIV therapies by Dr. Armita Nourmohammad, an assistant professor of physics here at the University of Washington, and collaborators in Germany. In a paper published earlier this week in eLife, Dr. Nourmohammad and her colleagues report that carefully designed cocktails of broadly neutralizing antibodies, or bNAbs, could help treat HIV while minimizing the risk of the virus evolving to “escape” treatment. Their study shows... Read more
Adam Reiss Picture
June 16, 2022
On July 20, 2022, 2011 co-winner of the Nobel Prize in Physics and Albert Einstein Medal receipent, Adam Riess, will be speaking at an upcoming Frontiers of Physics Lecture Series event. You can read more and register for the event at the event page.
April 20, 2022
UW News has posted a story about advancements in quantum materials by a team led by researchers at the University of Washington, the University of Hong Kong and the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. In a paper published this morning in Nature, the team reports that light — from a laser — can trigger a form of magnetism in a normally nonmagnetic material. This magnetism centers on the behavior of electrons “spins,” which have a potential application in quantum computing. Scientists... Read more
Donna Strickland Photo
March 29, 2022
Nobel Prize in Physics 2018  will give the Frontiers of Physics lecture “Generating High-Intensity, Ultrashort Optical Pulses” on May 19, 2021. The event will take place in Kane Hall 130 on UW Seattle campus. You can view the event info on the Physics events calendar.
SARS-CoV-2 variants
March 29, 2022
Remembering a virus’s chemical bits and pieces is one way the immune system fights disease, as doing so lets the body respond faster to a repeat infection. This immune memory relies on specialized memory cells, a mechanism that is different from another of the body’s memory systems, odor memory, which stores chemical information in a collection of distributed neurons. Why does biology use different memory strategies? Why don’t humans “smell” viruses? The answer, according to new research, is... Read more
Katrin Spectrometer
February 23, 2022
UW News has published a story about new findings in the quest to determine the mass of the neutrino, the lightest known subatomic particle. In a paper published Feb. 14 in Nature Physics, the Karlsruhe Tritium Neutrino Experiment — or KATRIN — reported that the neutrino’s mass is below 0.8 electron volts. Honing in on the elusive value of the neutrino’s mass will solve a major outstanding mystery in particle physics and equip scientists with a more complete view of the fundamental forces and... Read more
Shua Sanchez
December 2, 2021
CEI Graduate Fellow Shua Sanchez is exploring the frontiers of new materials while striving for justice in his community Growing up in small-town Wisconsin, Shua Sanchez’s exposure to science and university research was limited. At a young age, he became aware of climate change and read widely about ways to combat it, but it took until his final year at the University of Wisconsin-Madison for him to... Read more
Armita Nourmohammad Headshot
October 25, 2021
Congratulations to Dr. Nourmohammad!