You are here

Matthew Yankowitz awarded 2021 Lee Osheroff Richardson Science Prize

Submitted by Shane D Debolt on February 25, 2021 - 3:37pm
Matthew Yankowitz Lee Osheroff Richardson Science Prize Headshot

Assistant Professor Matthew Yankowitz has been awarded the 2021 Lee Osheroff Richardson Science Prize which promotes and recognizes the novel work of young scientists working in low temperatures and/or high magnetic fields in the Americas. Dr. Matthew Yankowitz is recognized for his formative contributions to the field of moiré van der Waals heterostructures, spanning the initial discovery of band reconstruction in aligned graphene/boron nitride to more recent investigations of strongly correlated states, magnetism, topology and superconductivity in twisted graphene structures.  The award, which is sponsored and funded by Oxford Instruments, includes an $8,000 cash prize along with a presentation at the APS March Meeting.  For more information, see

People Involved: