You are here

Graduate Awards and Fellowships

A number of special Research Assistantships, tuition scholarships, and supplements are available from the Department, the University, the Federal Government, and from private foundations for exceptionally qualified graduate students. 

List of Awards Recipients and Descriptions

The Fred Baumgartner Fellowships in Physics are awarded to entering graduate students who show exceptional promise. These fellowships provide tuition and a research fellowship for one quarter. 

The Kenneth Young Memorial Endowed Fellowship is an endowed fund which provides financial assistance to graduate students in the Department of Physics. These fellowships provide tuition and a research fellowship for one quarter. 

The ARCS (Achievement Rewards for College Scientists) Fellowship is offered to prospective students (US citizens) in the amount of $5000/year for each of three years for each student and must be combined with other support offered to the students. 

The Graduate School offers various Graduate Opportunities Program (GOMAP) Research Assistantships. The GOP fellowship for minorities and women is a merit-based research Assistant-ship program for entering students. 

United States citizens are eligible to apply for National Science Foundation Fellowships

Various interdisciplinary Graduate funding opportunities are available to Physics graduate students at the UW, including:

The Hans G. Dehmelt Prize in Experimental Physics recognizes students in the Department of Physics for outstanding achievements in the area of "table-top" experimental physics. 

The Everett M. Hadley Endowed Fellowship in Physics is to provide assistance for graduate students in the Department of Physics. 

The Joseph E. Henderson Family Award is a monetary prize given each year in recognition of a particularly outstanding physics doctoral dissertation completed at the University. 

The Ernest M. Henley & Elaine D. Henley Endowed Fellowship is to support graduate student fellowships in the Department of Physics. 

The Sebastian Karrer Memorial Fellowship for partial stipend and tuition is awarded to a first or second year student based on scholastic record. 

The Sebastian Karrer Prize in Physics is awarded each May to a second or third year graduate student who has done meritorious work. This monetary award is based on excellence of scholastic record and on professional promise. 

The Miller Physics Scholarship Fund each year awards a monetary prize to a senior or graduate student. The award is based on need, excellence of character, and scholarship. 

The Joseph H. Weis Memorial Prize is reserved for graduate students in Theoretical Physics to attend a meeting or summer school, or to visit a laboratory.